Johansson, Zellweger, Phoenix Winners at BAFTA 2020

Johansson, Zellweger, Phoenix Winners at BAFTA 2020 post thumbnail image
Spread the love

The London Albert Concert Hall hosted the 73rd Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) Awards for Cinematography.

Charlize Theron, Rooney Mara, Zoe Kravitz, Olivia Coleman, Lily Rose-Depp, Emilia Clark, Florence Pugh, Gillian Anderson, Saoirse Ronan, Al Pacino, Robert De Niro, Hugh Grant, Joshua Jackson, Andrew Scott, appeared on the red carpet of the award.

Adam Driver and other stars. In addition to celebrities from the world of cinema, the ceremony was attended by the British prince William and his wife Kate Middleton.


Johansson, Zellweger, Phoenix Winners at BAFTA 2020

Johansson, Zellweger, Phoenix Winners at BAFTA 2020

Image source

1917 has received seven awards

The war drama “1917”, which tells of two young British soldiers performing a dangerous mission during the First World War, became the winner of the award. In particular, the picture was named the best film, and the director Sam Mendes became the best director.

Also, the tape is noted for the work of the operator and the best sound. In total, the film took seven awards.


Best actors and jokes from absent Pitt

Joaquin Phoenix (Joker) won the Best Actor category, Renee Zellweger (Judy) became the best actress. Prizes for supporting roles were received by Brad Pitt and Laura Dern – they starred in the films Once Upon a Time in … Hollywood and The Marriage Story, respectively.

56-year-old Pitt, who was to present the award to Scarlett Johansson, was unable to attend the ceremony, but delivered a small speech through Margot Robbie. With the actress, they starred together with Quentin Tarantino. Pitt joked about the main news of recent days – the UK’s exit from the European Union –

Hey Britain, I heard you’re lonely now – welcome to the club!

According to Robbie, Pitt “will name his award to Harry, because she, too, will go to the States.”


Other rewards

The South Korean film “Parasites” by Pona Joon-ho became the best film in a foreign language and received a prize for the best original script. Jojo’s Rabbit was rewarded by Taiki Waititi for his best adapted script.

The BAFTA Prize is awarded by the British Academy of Motion Picture and Television Arts and is considered the “British Academy Award.”

2 thoughts on “Johansson, Zellweger, Phoenix Winners at BAFTA 2020”

Leave a Reply

Related Post